Dysfunctional Family Defines the “Real Sarah Palin”


Multiple reviews of The Rogue: Searching for the Real Sarah Palin appeared over the weekend. Before the book was available we learned that Sarah had dabbled in inter-racial sex and snorting cocaine with the First Dude in the wilds of Alaska. Now that the book is generally available, more entertaining reviews are available. Sarah Palin is described in the book as a narcissist, disguised as a selfless public servant having serious multigenerational family dysfunction. It is this “multigenerational family dysfunction” that jumped out at me last night as I began my journey through McGinnis’ book.

Having only made it to pg 57 before I had to take a break to prevent having nightmares, I retreated to the comfort and serenity of the television room where Bad Boys II was just finishing. As I watched the villain being shot in the forehead, and his body being blown apart by a land mine, with pieces of his torso landing on Will Smith’s ear, I was temporarily able to put Sarah Palin out of my mind. However this morning I am still bothered by the image of Sarah Palin’s abusive and dysfunctional family.  Here are just a few of the memorable references from the first pages of the book:

1. Sarah’s dad, Chuck Heath is reported to have come from a dysfunctional family. McGinnis quotes Going Rogue:

“ Through the years I heard enough muffled conversations between my mom and dad to know that his parents’ acceptance of pain must have translated beyond the physical.” (pg 17)

2. Even though Chuck Heath’s parents were alive, Chuck appears to have been adopted by a “Dorothy Mooney”of Sandpoint.

3. Sarah’s mother was baptized in an Evangelical church. All of her energy went into the church and none of it into raising her children (pg 19). Sarah’s older sister became the mom. She cooked, cleaned, took care of everything in the house. The kids were not tended to and the house was run down.

4. Todd didn’t want to give up all the other girls, but Sarah wanted to get married. (pg 27)

5. A school teacher pled guilty to 17 charges of sexually molesting third grade girls. Parents had complained to Ray Carter, the school principal, but he failed to take action. When Ray was fired it was Chuck Heath that came to his rescue and got him re-hired. (pg 28).

6. Diana Palin, Todd’s sister, used her 4 year old daughter as part of her burglary of multiple homes to get drug money.Diana had been the victim of domestic abuse on more than one occasion and was addicted to methamphetamine (pa 40a).

7. Todd’s father’s first wife was an alcoholic and a battered wife, before he married her. She married him for financial support. Both Todd’s father and first wife were reported to be alcoholic (pg 41).

8. Todd’ mother, Blanche, was his father’s second wife. Blanche was known for her appearance in court when someone had the nerve to complain when Blanche served a child a lye-based detergent that she said she thought was “fruit juice,”

9. Todd’s brother was involved in a hit-and-run accident after binge drinking. (pg 41)

Other memorable revelations included:

1. Todd paid Twelve Thousand Dollars in cash for a car, when he was very young. ( page 21) The logical question is where did all this “cash” come from? Could it have been that Todd was involved with prostitution that early?

2. Sarah was always walking around naked, even when she was with the basketball team. ( pg 21) This would certainly be consistent with the mention in Game Change about Palin appearing in her bath robe when greeting professionals working on the campaign.

3. McGinnis identifies by name 45 Evangelical Churches located in Wasilla. ( pg 5). With a population of 7000-8000 people that would be roughly one church per every 170 man, woman, and child in Wasilla.

4. Todd and his friends beat up an African American child because he was Black. ( pg 22). This type of bigotry would be consistent with a violent reaction by Todd to the publication of McGinnis’ book which reported a sexual encounter with a Black basketball player.  Maybe the reports of a divorce are valid.

Many politicians have been reported to have done drugs and been involved in illicit sexual encounters. Sex and drugs are topics sure to attract readers of the book and articles about the book. Yet the most revealing and most disturbing information is the report of the “dysfunctional” family. I don’t really care that Todd was arrested for DUI. What troubles me is that he is such a bigot that he beat-up a Black kid and got away with it. I don’t really care that Sarah slept with a NBA player. What troubles me is that a person who aspires to be the President, exhibits signs of mental illness and/or drug usage and comes from a family with a history of mental illness and drug usage.

35 thoughts on “Dysfunctional Family Defines the “Real Sarah Palin”

Add yours

  1. This is one jazzed up family! They make my family look like the Cleavers. It boggles the mind to think that there are really wack job people out there who think that these people could become our first family? That scares the sh## out of me!

    Like

    1. Tillie,’
      Me too! Every family has some troubled individuals, and we can all relate to that. However in this case it is the parents of Todd and Sarah that have been shown to be dysfunctional, and we know what happens to kids with dysfunctional parents. They go by the name of Track, Bristol, Willow and Piper. Trig probably doesn’t fit into that category as he probably doesn’t know who his parents are.

      Like

  2. Oh Malia, these are the things that are seeping into my nightmares. I cannot imagine the hell that is the Palin’s life but I do know what she has done to this country. I am reading the book slowly because the way they live and the horrors they bestow on other people is endemic in this world today. Sarah Palin has been foisted by McCain on the American people and I have this fear she will always be there, in the background, but there, making the country a worse place. What else can we do? She is mentally ill, needs help, but is way past redemption as far as I am concerned.

    Like

  3. Oh Malia, these are the things that are seeping into my nightmares. I cannot imagine the hell that is the Palin’s life but I do know what she has done to this country. I am reading the book slowly because the way they live and the horrors they bestow on other people is endemic in this world today, and I cannot bear to put too much into my mind at the same time. Sarah Palin has been foisted by McCain on the American people and I have this fear she will always be there, in the background, but there, making the country a worse place. What else can we do? She is mentally ill, needs help, but is way past redemption as far as I am concerned.

    Like

    1. ann_s,
      I feel your pain! I tried to devote as much time to the book as possible last night, but after 57 pages I had more time but not the stomach for more about the Palin clan.

      Like

  4. It is mind boggling that all they have to say is “I am a Christian” and everything is honkey dory, no questions asked and we are not supposed to ask any questions.

    Remember abstienence Bristol in AZ….. Gino was from a good christian family and that covered everything.

    Interesting how the GOP/TEA mirror the dysfunctional Palins, no wonder she has a home there.

    Yea I think we saved this country by electing President Obama.

    Like

    1. Linda,
      I am afraid the craziness is not over. It may only be beginning. With Perry’s numbers falling, we may see an announcement from Palin sooner than later

      Like

      1. I think Perry forshadows Sarah’s path if she were to run, she can’t handle the debates etc. and she is much weaker than Perry. I do not think she will get an easy ride from the GOP, they know she is unelectable.

        The plus in this is that the GOP/TEA have shown their true colors and people will have more information before the next election. In the mid terms , people were thinking the TEA was all about fiscal conservatism, but they have shown their extremenisn and their actions are hurting many.

        People have to be educated on the issues. Even with the MSM playing hardball with the truth about Palin, more and more people are getting tired of her. She has done nothing except be a celebrity. If her movie had done well, I think she would have entered the race already.

        Like

      2. Actually, I want to reply to Linda who replied to you, but somehow I can’t do that (no ‘reply’ button) :
        IMHO, she still MIGHT be so delusional that she can win, but she also knows she cannot survive any debates. So, IF she runs, it will be as a ‘third party’ candidate, where she will have at the most ONE debate at the very end, with only one candidate from each party. She will put on her best push-up bra, her shortest skirt, and her wonkiest wig – and will not answer any questions, but make BIG words about NOTHING.

        Like

  5. I was reading The Rogue last night too and decided I had to stop or I’d have nightmares! Fortunately I had some P.G. Wodehouse downloaded on my iPad which had me laughing before bedtime. It worked very well.

    Like

  6. You know, who she reminds me of? Another very charismatic politician who was bat-shit crazy & came from a dysfunctional upbringing – Adolf Hitler. And Perry? 2 peas in a pod as near as I can tell. After reading Altemeyer’s book on the authoritarian personality (leader & follower), it becomes easier to recognize them – and scarier. Did you know that Cheney is the quintessential double authoritarian personality? Altemeyer’s book is online for free – http://home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~altemey/

    Like

      1. There is an interesting book published about 5 years ago (sorry, can’t remember the name, but maybe someone else knows it) about the conservative Christian movement has been slowly gaining control of the Republican party – starting with Texas (according to the book, they had the Texan Republican party all sewn up) and were working on national control – White House, Supreme Court, & Congress. I think we’re starting to see signs of their success. I consider myself a Christian – but I wouldn’t align myself with these people. I guess that’s why we tend to find that the Republican party is scary in itself.

        Like

      2. Carolyn,
        that’s a frightening concept. I don’t know what the book is, but will look for it. Thanks, Malia

        Like

      3. I have been wondering if she is the ‘Anti-Christ’ they have been talking about for years. Supposedly the A.C. is a female, and is supposed to ‘be around’ around this time…:/ (Don’t remember when/where I read about this – sorry!)

        Like

  7. Christians of the sarah type take away anything religious from the word Christianity. Insult it laugh at it..but use it so much. It is no longer Christian when her minions step in.

    Like

  8. WOW I did not know my family was that fucked up. Now I know why we are dysfunctional.

    Beautifully written but I would of added the part about mom’s breakdown during her debate prep when she went into a catatonic state and dropped her head in an unresponsive manner.

    Like

  9. This is the first book I have ever had to read over a period of days. I just couldn’t do it because it just made me feel sick to my stomach. I was very surprised to see that Sally was not a good mother either but it does fit with why Sarah isn’t either. Even though she talks about her “special & wonderful” close family I just don’t see it. To me it is like watching a play (a very bad one at that). She seems like an actor & everyone and everything around her are just props.

    The christian aspect is baffling. I was in the born-again movement and everything she does is just so not what any women I knew would consider being a good person let alone a good mother. That has always puzzled me unless it is just the fact that they are dying for a good born-again christian to get in the White House. I don’t know it is really one of the strangest things I have ever seen.

    All I can say is that I would pay a zillion dollars to anyone who thinks that if this was anyone other than SP they would have still be considered a good christian let alone a good mother. I still am shocked that when they found out Bristol was going to have a baby they were so sympathetic. Yes, see how real she is she is facing the same things everyone else does.

    She is so real that she scares the hell out of me;)

    Like

    1. I don’t mind the sympathy for a pregnant Bristol – but I do mind – a lot – the hypocrisy of teaching abstinence as the only method of birth control. Teen agers will do what teen agers will do, but to my way of thinking, a good parent will say don’t – but if you must, for God’s sake, protect yourselves!
      Fast forward 15 years – do you want to bet against Bristol’s kid (sorry, forget his name – Trig, Tripp, Track? – what is it with these people?) being the father of an unwed pregnancy?

      Like

      1. Carolyn – Oops, I guess I should have said that I had no problem with the sympathy for Bristol. I would never think less of anyone who had a child who was pregnant. I was mad because if it had been President Obama’s daughters they would have talked non-stop about what awful parents he & Michelle were. Look at how they treated the Spears girl, etc.

        What are the chances that Tripp has an unwed pregnancy – well, Sallie, Sarah, Track, & Bristol were all pregnant before they were married so the odds aren’t lookin’ so good.

        It chaps my butt that these people want to teach (oops, I meant preach) abstinence when clearly they couldn’t do it. Birth control people, birth control…………

        Like

      2. Carolyn,
        His name is Tripp, as in Shailey Tripp, and you betcha, we know what Tripp wil be doing when he’s around 16-17.

        Like

  10. She scares the hell out of me too. She is not the kind of person I find in the small towns I live in.
    I know and have worked with the kind of people the palins are. They are dangerous because they have a cult mentality, them vs. us, we are always right, they are always trying to get “us’.

    I understand why people like and follow her, there are many out there like her and they want her to succeed if only to vindicate that they are right and the rest of us are ‘wrong’.

    Like

    1. Diane,
      When people want a president that is “just like them” I get really scarred! “Just like them” would be a disaster!

      Like

  11. I haven’t read the comments yet, but I want to add a second possibility to Toad being able to pay $12K cash as a teen: DRUGS!

    That said: Thanks for a great listing of the different things you are reading. At the moment, I am also reading it, and have to refrain from marking the book, because I want hubby to read the book also, too.
    My first impression: Wasilla and the Palins remind me of The Godfather – the mafia guy who influenced the whole town and got away with murder (at least for a while).
    INcredible that this Alaska Mafia family has the GUTS to try to get into NATIONAL politics, and that they almost made it. Someone HAS to ‘out’ the people behind them!

    Like

    1. FEDUP !!!!!
      I think that’s a great analogy! I know when I was in Alaska for the book signing, it was also my impression that people were really scared of her

      Like

    1. Couldn’t reply to Malia’s reply to my other post. I think I’ve found the book I was referring to on amazon. It’s Kingdom Coming: The Rise of Christian Nationalism by Michelle Goldberg. There is another book which is, as near as I can tell, about the same movement (and yes, it is dominionism). The other book is American Fascists: The Christian Right and the War on America by Chris Hedges. Actually American Fascists is the one that comes up first on Amazon if you type in “dominionism.” I’m of 2 minds about getting it as Goldberg’s book scared me enough – read it right after reading Naomi Wolf’s The End of America.

      Like

  12. The whole family is not right in the head. I haven’t read the book just headlines and excerpts, just wow. Very revealing. That is what my cousin has done, state she is a Christian and all is well. And she is not! She has done this forever. Yep those Christians, some of them aren’t.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑