The Steve Miller Band told us a story about a young man who shot somebody, took money, and ran away.

George Zimmerman shot somebody, made money because of it, and has now run away.

George Zimmerman created a web site to raise money for his defense and the living expenses of he and his family.  Even though the web site is “temporarily unavailable” the web site has been documented as saying:

“On Sunday February 26th, I was involved in a life altering event which led me to become the subject of intense media coverage. As a result of the incident and subsequent media coverage, I have been forced to leave my home, my school, my employer, my family and ultimately, my entire life. This website’s sole purpose is to ensure my supporters they are receiving my full attention without any intermediaries.

It has come to my attention that some persons and/or entities have been collecting funds, thinly veiled as my “Defense Fund’ or “Legal Fund”. I cannot attest to the validity of these other websites as I have not received any funds collected, intended to support my family and I through this trying, tragic time.

I have created a Paypal account solely linked on this wesite as I would like to provide an avenue to thank my supporters personally and ensure that any funds provided are used only for living expenses and legal defense, in lieu of my forced inability to maintain employment. I will also personally, maintain accountability of all funds received. I assure you every donation is appreciated.

Sincerely, George Zimmerman”

To make reference to a “life altering event” characterizes George Zimmerman as the victim. For Trayvon Martin the “event” was life terminating. Trayvon is dead. His life was not altered, it was ended.

In case that request for “supporters” to give money wasn’t offensive enough, Zimmerman has now disappeared. He ran away. His attorneys don’t even know how to locate him, and have withdrawn as his legal representatives.

Zimmerman’s attorneys said they had not spoken to him since Sunday, after they set up a website with his father for his legal defense. The following day, Zimmerman announced a separate website, to the surprise of his lawyers. Understanding that attorneys and Zimmerman’s father had set up the original web site, Zimmerman’s comments make more sense. It appears that Zimmerman thought his attorneys and his father were out to get him. It appears that Zimmerman believes that his father and his attorneys were not to be trusted.

My only advice to Zimmerman’s father and attorneys is, don’t eat Skittles, drink Iced tea, or wear a hoodie in the rain. You might cause George to be fearful for his life, thereby needing to protect himself. He has a gun, and knows how to use it.

